Dark Disco Dancing

I’ve been immersed in dark synth mixes on YouTube, mostly thanks to Greg Deep, who has an abundance of dark techno mixes under his Dark Disco playlist. I’ve always been into EDM, new wave, and disco(the origin of all modern dance music).

Disco was before my time, but I’ve always found myself drawn to American music from the 1970s, the decade that came before that of which I was born.

My music taste is eclectic; I can vibe to the score of The Nutcracker and then body roll to Glorilla. Variety is the spice of life! 😛

In speaking with my eldest, I realized that it’s been a while since I’ve listened to R&B. I grew up on it, but it’s one of those genres that started crossing a line with hip-hop; if I want hip-hop, I’ll just listen to hip-hop!

A lot of recent R&B I’ve heard caught snippets of harbors on themes of heartbreak and considering I’m not in that headspace, I’m not trying to go there. Seems like the lines are being practiced again, so I may jump on one of my music apps and see what’s currently hot in the mainstream R&B streets. I do listen to the musical stylings of Silk Sonic and Miguel, who sing about more of the themes I’m interested in, though breakup songs are in their repertoire.

Every topic has a place in music, but I’m not always in the mood for it, depending on the delivery. For instance, one of my fave songs is Heatwaves by Glass Animals, which is a breakup song, but the melody doesn’t make me feel like watering plants with my tears.

But I digress.

Whoever said disco was dead should issue a public apology post haste! The original disco music may be history, but its evolved sound is here and not showing signs of regression. Disco will never die! 🕺🏾🪩


Photo by Mohammad Metri on Unsplash

Say Something!